317 Bradshaw Street #2, Lyman, WY 82937 • Ph: 307-787-3229 • Fax: 307-787-6795
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Sports Obituaries Opinion Classifieds Home 

Jensen elected to state position with Wyoming Trout Unlimited

Posted: Wednesday, May 22nd, 2013

Evanston’s Mike Jensen was elected chairman of Wyoming Trout Unlimited in Jackson Hole on May 4, during the organization's annual meeting. Here, he displays a beautiful Snake River cutthroat trout caught while floating the Snake River prior to the annual meeting. PIONEER PHOTO/Mark Tesoro

By Our Staff

JACKSON HOLE — Evanston’s Mike Jensen was elected to a two-year term as chairman of Wyoming Trout Unlimited (WYTU) during the organization’s annual spring meeting held in Jackson Hole May 2-5.

Jensen, who is a life member of Trout Unlimited (TU), has served as vice chair and interim fundraising chairman for WYTU for the past three years. In addition, he currently serves as editor of the organization’s quarterly newsletter, Trout Tales. He has also been active in the local Upper Bear River TU Chapter since the chapter reorganized in 2007. He has served as fundraising chairman, newsletter editor and vice president for the chapter.

“I’m excited and nervous at the same time,” Jensen said. “I certainly don’t want to break the thing. This is an outstanding organization filled with passionate, talented and motivated men and women who want to be successful in our conservation efforts around the state.

“And oh yeah, have a lot of fun doing it, too,” he said.

Jensen noted that TU is truly a grassroots organization and WYTU is no different. Jensen noted that all monies raised in Wyoming stay in Wyoming for local projects and programs, including the popular and growing Adopt-A-Trout program for Wyoming students.

“Thanks to our incredible base of 1,500-plus volunteers, our national staff members, friends and partners around the Cowboy State, we are truly doing outstanding work conserving, protecting and restoring Wyoming’s coldwater fisheries and their watersheds,” he said.

WYTU is made up of 11 chapters — Casper Grey Reef (Casper), Curt Gowdy (Cheyenne), East Yellowstone (Cody), Flaming Gorge/Lower Green River (Rock Springs/Green River), Jackson Hole, Laramie Valley (Laramie), Little Big Horn (Sheridan), Platte Valley (Saratoga), Popo Agie Anglers (Lander), Upper Green River (Pinedale) and Upper Bear River (Evanston).

Joining Jensen on the executive committee of WYTU are newly elected officers Calvin Hazlewood, of Green River, who will serve as vice chair; Dave Sweet, of Cody, who will serve as treasurer; Cole Sherard, of Wheatland, who will serve as secretary; and Jim Broderick, of Jackson, who will serve as National Leadership Council Representative and past chair.

“We have a great group of volunteers that make up the leadership of the council,” Jensen said. “Coupled with the fantastic work of our Wyoming Coordinator Scott Christy, I’m looking forward to continuing the tradition of excellence that has made this organization one of the top conservation groups in Wyoming and around the west.”

In Jensen’s professional life, he serves as publisher for Wyoming Newspapers, Inc. — Uinta County Herald, Bridger Valley Pioneer and Kemmerer Gazette —based out of Evanston. He and his wife Jodi are the proud parents of three great kids and two Labrador retrievers. They also love being new grandparents.

For the complete article see the 05-17-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 05-17-2013 paper.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal